Learning and Plasticity - LaP2019


Learning and Plasticity - LaP2019


latest update: March 28, 2019


Dear colleague,

LaP is a cross-disciplinary meeting that connects psychological and neuroscience research on the mechanisms of learning and brain plasticity. It is organized by the Åbo Akademi University, the University of Turku, and the Turku Brain and Mind Center.

The 2019 meeting dates will be April 7-10, 2019. The venue is the same as for the four previous meetings, namely Äkäshotel at the Äkäslompolo village.

A special theme of the 2019 meeting, addressed by the keynote as well as by three of the five confirmed symposia, will be ”Music: Neurocognition and Therapeutic Applications”. However, as before, most of the congress program will consist of free papers reflecting the broad spectrum of learning and plasticity research.

We are happy to announce the LaP 2019 keynote speaker Professor Robert Zatorre, PhD (McGill University – Montreal Neurological Institute). For his laboratory website, see https://www.zlab.mcgill.ca/.

The five symposia will be as follows:

“Musical Deficits and Music-Based Rehabilitation after Stroke: Efficacy and Neural Mechanisms” (organizer Teppo Särkämö)

“Implicit musical learning and musical training” (organizers Mari Tervaniemi and Eleanor Harding)

“Musical Expertise, Perceptual Learning, and Transfer – How Experience Shapes Cognition” (organizer Susanne Jaeggi)

“Involvement of Short-term and Working Memory (STM/WM) in Aphasia, Part One: Theories and Approaches to Assessment” (organizers Nadine Martin, Steve Majerus, Laura Murray, and Christos Salis)

“Involvement of Short-term and Working Memory (STM/WM) in Aphasia, Part Two: Approaches to Treatment” (organizers Nadine Martin, Steve Majerus, Laura Murray, and Christos Salis)

Despite of its northern location way above the polar circle, the congress site is easy to reach e.g. by daily flight connections from Helsinki to the nearby airport at Kittilä. The congress program runs from afternoon to evening, enabling one to utilize the excellent possibilities for various winter sports and other outdoor activities during the long days in early April. Due to auditorium space and to keep the meeting highly interactive, the number of participants is limited to 100. It is important to make travel arrangements in good time as the flights and the night trains tend to become fully booked due to the number of tourists coming to enjoy the unique Lappish Spring.

Hope to see you at the Heart of Finnish Lapland in Spring 2019!

The LaP Scientific Committee,

Matti Laine, Abo Akademi University, Finland (Chair)
Lars Bäckman, Karolinska Institute, Sweden
Susanne Jaeggi, University of California at Irvine, USA
Hasse Karlsson, University of Turku, Finland
Minna Lehtonen, Abo Akademi University, Finland
Marcus Meinzer, University of Queensland, Australia
Lars Nyberg, Umeå University, Sweden


  • Symposium proposals – closed
  • Abstract submission – closed
  • Congress registration: early-bird deadline – February 28, 2019